Kings Circus, Lansdown, Bath

A stunning fusion of geometry and theatre – designed by John Wood the Elder and completed by his son, the Kings Circus was begun in 1754 and finished by 1768. Containing design elements from Roman amphitheatres and prehistoric stone circles, this centrepiece of Lansdown combines the triangle and circle of the Freemason’s Trinity of Eternity into a classic Regency playground for the rich and famous of the time. William Pitt (Prime Minister and Earl of Chatham) lived at No11, No14 was a holiday home for the 4th Duke of Bedford and Thomas Gainsborough resided at No17. The London Plane trees in the centre of the circle date from 1800 – 1820.

For more info on Madison Oakley or contact details for our directors, do visit our website.